Decorating Idea-Journey Off The Map

If you’re looking for an easy decorating idea that takes up a lot of space, here’s one!  Just take two different colored plastic tablecloths from the dollar store and drape them from a center point in the ceiling.  Alternate the two different colors of green in a circular pattern.  To create the hanging vines in the middle, take the table cloths and cut them using a large paper trimmer.  Make sure you leave the table cloth folded up and cut into strips.  This will make quick and easy long vines.  Pull on the sides of the vine to give it definition and make it look like vegetation.

download

6 Comments

  1. Great idea’s. this might be a dumb question, but I was wondering if you cut the table clothes into strips before you hung them onto the ceiling.
    I love this design and I plan on presenting it to my churches Pastor’s wife today. Im head of the decorating team for our churches VBS this summer and I am trying to find practical, cost efficient designs and Im pretty sure that this idea will dazzle her.
    Thank you for the inspiration, I’ll be sure to give full credit to you and your congregation. And if you have any tips for me it would be greatly appreciated 🙂
    I need all the help I can get. I have worked vbs before but this will be my first time doing decorations and I really want to impress the church elders; if you know what I mean :-\
    thanks again,
    God Bless and best of wishes,
    Jesse Lee Powell of Cooper Avenue Baptist in Yuba City, Ca.

    • As soon as you pull the tablecloth out of the plastic wrap, don’t unfold it-just cut it all folded up. It will turn it into strips you can hang up. I’ll have more tips soon!

      • Red

        What do you mean with “cut into strips” are you fully cutting strips out of the table cloth or making slits so far in for then to hang downward? I wish there was a little more direction on how to get this done cause I’d really like to do it.

      • Cut into FULL strips-you should have a bunch of individual strips when you are done.

  2. Stacy

    My question is how did you hang them and how many tablecloths were used for the design in the photo.

    • We stapled the strips to the ceiling and we used around 6 or 7 tablecloths worth of strips. It was a very large room and we had most of the ceiling covered. One tablecloth makes quite a few strips.

Leave a Reply

